About CPF and the Awards

The California Preservation Awards are a statewide hallmark, showcasing the best in historic preservation. The awards ceremony includes the presentation of the Preservation Design Awards and the President’s Awards, bringing together hundreds of people each year to share and celebrate excellence in preservation.

The California Preservation Foundation (CPF), a 501c3 nonprofit, was incorporated in 1978. We now support a national network of more than 36,000 members and supporters. Click here to learn how you can become a member.

Futuro Project Team

Project Lead & Title
Milford Wayne Donaldson – Architect Milford Wayne Donaldson FAIA

Owner/Client & Title
Milford Wayne Donaldson – Architect Milford Wayne Donaldson FAIA

Historic Architect
Milford Wayne Donaldson – Architect Milford Wayne Donaldson FAIA

Lead Engineer
Eric Stovner – LZA Technology

Consulting Engineer
Craig Moyer – Engineered Systems

Historic Preservation Consultant
Milford Wayne Donaldson – Architect Milford Wayne Donaldson FAIA

Jim King – JD King Construction

Project Manager
Dora Dillman – D.L. Dillman Construction

Dan Lind – Inland Foundation Engineering, Inc.

Acrylic Window Manufacturer
Phil Martinez – Planet Plastics

Futuro Owner in Pensacola, FL
Victoria Clarkin

Futuro Historian
Marko Home – Desura Oy Ltd. (Futuro book author)

Futuro House Mover
Larry Wood – San Diego Boat Movers

Futuro Original Owner
Stan Grau – Grauhaus Corporation

Futuro owner in Australia
Paul McNeil

Land Surveyor, Lot Tie
J. C. Holt

Fire Protection
Rigo Vazquez – Advanco Fire Protection

Finish Carpentry
Earl Siems

Rock Work and Concrete
Charlie Clayton – Ajax Rock

Rough Carpentry
Mike Clark – Woodwizard Woodworks

Rick Chaney – Rick Chaney Plumbing

Mike Duron – Power Bound Electrical

Paint Conservator
Susan Buck – Paintchips

Plastic Conservator
Elbert Speidel – Professor, Cal Poly, SLO, CA

Joe Sanderval – Marco Crane and Rigging


The Futuro is the winner of a 2020 Preservation Design Award for Restoration. Award recipients are selected by a jury of top professionals in the fields of architecture, engineering, planning, and history, as well as renowned architecture critics and journalists. The Award will be presented on Wednesday, October 21, 2020 at an online awards ceremony. Tickets and sponsorship options are available at californiapreservation.org/awards.

About this project

The Futuro, a pre-fabricated and movable house fabricated in 1969 of all-structural glass-reinforced plastic, reflects the optimism during the exciting era of space exploration when people believed technology could solve all problems for the human race. Its design encapsulated the distinctive themes of the 1960s utopian architecture: mobility, increased leisure time and the new plastic material. It is the art icon among utopian Space-Age architecture.

Over a 12 year period, from 2004 to the early months of 2016, a multidisciplinary team of preservation specialists including architects; structural, building technology, plastic material engineers; architectural conservators; realtors, general contractors and multiple subcontractors worked tirelessly to rescue, stabilize, relocate, and restore the Futuro. The innovative restoration exemplifies best practice in architectural conservation of plastic materials and code compliance encompassed under the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Restoration, and by the California Preservation Foundation’s award classification for Restoration.