About CPF and the Awards

The California Preservation Awards are a statewide hallmark, showcasing the best in historic preservation. The awards ceremony includes the presentation of the Preservation Design Awards and the President’s Awards, bringing together hundreds of people each year to share and celebrate excellence in preservation.

The California Preservation Foundation (CPF), a 501c3 nonprofit, was incorporated in 1978. We now support a national network of more than 36,000 members and supporters. Click here to learn how you can become a member.

Ain Residence Project Team

Project Lead or Principal
Frank Escher – Escher GuneWardena Architecture

Project Lead or Principal
Ravi GuneWardena – Escher GuneWardena Architecture

Client / Owner
Poulson Joyce 

Lead Architect, Engineer, or Designer Address
Ravi GuneWardena – Escher GuneWardena Architecture, Inc.

Tessa Watson

Sasha Plotnikova

Historic Architect
Gregory Ain – Ain, Johnson and Day

Historic Architect
Joseph Johnson – Ain, Johnson and Day

Historic Architect
Alfred Day – Ain, Johnson and Day

Landscape Architect
Delia Hitz

Original Landscape Design
Garrett Eckbo

Original Landscape Design
Robert Royston

Original Landscape Design
Edward Williams

Consulting Engineer
Paul Francheschi – Francheschi Engineering, Inc.

Anthony Bonomo – Bonomo Development

Restoration of Gregory Ain’s 1952 Greene Residence

Restoration of Gregory Ain’s 1952 Greene Residence is a winner for the 2021 Preservation Design Award for Reconstruction or Contextual Infill. Award recipients are selected by a jury of top professionals in the fields of architecture, engineering, planning, and history, as well as renowned architecture critics and journalists. Tickets and sponsorship options are available at californiapreservation.org/awards.

About Restoration of Gregory Ain’s 1952 Greene Residence

Gregory Ain’s 1952 Marjorie M. Greene Residence in Los Angeles, closely related to the 1950 MoMA Exhibition House, has been restored following a devastating fire in 2018. Until the May 2021 discovery of the lost MoMA House, the Greene Residence was the only surviving building associated with the project. It was designed by prominent mid-century architect Gregory Ain in collaboration with architects Joseph Johnson and Alfred Day in 1952, with landscape design by Garrett Eckbo, Robert Royston and Edward Williams from 1953. Following the fire, structural members of the house were charred yet standing. However, the interiors and all of the glazing were completely destroyed. The only known set of blueprints of the house was also lost in the fire. The house and garden were fully restored by the preservation architects between 2019 and 2021 by researching archival material and recreating construction documents based on the MoMA House.

Featured Image Courtesy and Copyright Janna Ireland