About CPF and the Awards

The California Preservation Awards are a statewide hallmark, showcasing the best in historic preservation. The awards ceremony includes the presentation of the Preservation Design Awards and the President’s Awards, bringing together hundreds of people each year to share and celebrate excellence in preservation.

The California Preservation Foundation (CPF), a 501c3 nonprofit, was incorporated in 1978. We now support a national network of more than 36,000 members and supporters. Click here to learn how you can become a member.

Miles C. Bates House Project Team

Christian Stayner – Stayner Architects

Kevin O’Donnell – O’Donnell Brothers Construction

Landscape Architect
  – The Cactus Store

The Miles C. Bates House

The The Miles C. Bates House is the winner of a 2020 Preservation Design Award for Rehabilitation. Award recipients are selected by a jury of top professionals in the fields of architecture, engineering, planning, and history, as well as renowned architecture critics and journalists. The Award will be presented on Wednesday, October 21, 2020 at an online awards ceremony. Tickets and sponsorship options are available at californiapreservation.org/awards.

About this project

The Miles C. Bates “Wave”House was designed in 1954, completed in 1955, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2018. After its completion, a series of additions overtook the legibility of the Bates House’s dramatic wave-like roofline, and a number of years during which the house was unoccupied threatened its structural and material integrity. Stayner Architects purchased the house from the city of Palm Desert in order to save the unique mid century structure from destruction and to repurpose it to a new event and hospitality business. Through a meticulous, two year-long effort, the firm restored the innovative, patented roof system and emblematic mid-century structure and reactivated the property as a publicly-accessible amenity.