California Preservation Awards Sponsorship

To learn about CPF's sponsorship opportunities, including how you can sponsor this page, click here or email us.

The 2023 Design Awards Event

For 2023, we’re celebrating 16 award winning projects at the historic Fort Mason Center for the Arts & Culture in the Cowell Theatre, preceded by a special social event in the stunning Design Award-winning Pier 2 Atrium.

We’re celebrating four years of the Preservation Design Awards at this special opportunity for winning teams and conference-goers. Wines will be split into six groups, tied to winning projects from all four years. There will be some surprises, a silent auction, and food and drink served.

Hart Park Adobe House Rehabilitation Project


Project Lead; Engineering Technician
Nadia Lopez – Kern County Administrative Office, General Services Division

Owner/Client; Chief General Services Officer
Geoffrey Hill – Kern County Administrative Office, General Services Division

Robert Mahan – Kern County Administrative Office, General Services Division

Architect of Record
Daniel Moreno – Kern County Administrative Office, General Services Division

Landscape Architect
Don Woodard – Kern County Administrative Office, General Services Division

James Golden – Kern County Planning  and Natural Resources Department,  Community Development Unit

Ken Smith – Ken Smith Construction

Jeff Jones – Ken Smith Construction

Historic Architect / Historic Preservation Consultant
Robert Chattel – Chattel, Inc.

Historic Preservation Consultant
Alvin-Christian Nuval – Chattel, Inc.

Structural Engineer for Concept Design
Sam Mengelkoch – Structural Focus

Structural Engineer of Record
Marcelo Cairo – Inertia Engineers

Structural Engineer of Record
Tanner Diaz – Inertia Engineers

Civil Engineer
Bob Swanson – Swanson Engineering, Inc.

Civil Engineer
Mike Noel – Swanson Engineering, Inc.

Mechanical Engineer
Mark Baskin – Baskin Mechanical Engineers

Mechanical Engineer
Mike Mundschau – Baskin Mechanical Engineers

Electrical Engineer
John Maloney – JMPE Electrical Engineering

Testing and Special Inspections
On Man Lau – BSK Associates

Benjamin Ruiz – BPR Consulting

Adobe Restoration Consultant
Gil Sanchez – Gil Sanchez Architect, FAIA (E)

Community Partner
Stephen Montgomery – Kern River Parkway Foundation

Community Partner
Bill Cooper – Kern River Parkway Foundation

Community Partner
Mike Maggard – Former Third District Supervisor

Community Partner
Jeff Flores – Chief of Staff to Third District Supervisor Maggard


Hart Park Adobe House Rehabilitation Project

Hart Park Adobe House Rehabilitation Project is a winner for the 2023 Preservation Design Award for Rehabilitation. Award recipients are selected by a jury of top professionals in the fields of architecture, engineering, planning, and history, as well as renowned architecture critics and journalists. Tickets and sponsorship options are available at

About Hart Park Adobe House Rehabilitation Project

Though Kern County is not often recognized for preservation, it has a dedicated community invested in educating future generations about local history. Rehabilitation of the former caretaker’s house in the 300-acre Hart Park was made possible by stakeholders who fought to save the building from demolition and worked closely with the project consultants to ensure it could find new life as a nature center along the Kern River.

With federal funds triggering Section 106 review, the Hart Park Adobe House was found eligible for listing in the National Register and the rehabilitation was designed to conform with the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards. The project included structural stabilization of unreinforced adobe walls, rehabilitation of existing wood windows, and incorporation of interpretation to continue to tell the story of the building’s original construction. The resulting nature center is an exciting new asset for the local community.

About CPF and the Awards

The California Preservation Awards are a statewide hallmark, showcasing the best in historic preservation. The awards ceremony includes the presentation of the Preservation Design Awards and the President’s Awards, bringing together hundreds of people each year to share and celebrate excellence in preservation.

The California Preservation Foundation (CPF), a 501c3 nonprofit, was incorporated in 1978. We now support a national network of more than 36,000 members and supporters. Click here to learn how you can become a member.