California Preservation Awards Sponsorship

To learn about CPF's sponsorship opportunities, including how you can sponsor this page, click here or email us.

The 2023 Design Awards Event

For 2023, we’re celebrating 16 award winning projects at the historic Fort Mason Center for the Arts & Culture in the Cowell Theatre, preceded by a special social event in the stunning Design Award-winning Pier 2 Atrium.

We’re celebrating four years of the Preservation Design Awards at this special opportunity for winning teams and conference-goers. Wines will be split into six groups, tied to winning projects from all four years. There will be some surprises, a silent auction, and food and drink served.

Mayfield Senior School


Chad Yussman – KFA Architecture

Client or Owner
Kate Morin – Mayfield Senior School

Project Lead
Tarrah Beebe – KFA Architecture

Rita Illig Liebelt – Illig Construction Company

Structural Engineer
Jim Pearson – Brandow & Johnston

Mechanical Engineer
Bryan Jimenez – Henderson Engineers

Electrical Engineer
Harold Pintes – Henderson Engineers

MEP Engineer
Ryan Haug – Henderson Engineers

Reuben Lombardo – Spectra Company

Lighting Consultant
Kris Sandheinrich – KGM Lighting

Audiovisual Consultant
David Gales – Waveguide

Plumbing Consultant
Grant Muir – Muir-Chase Plumbing

Brad Young – Wittler-Young, Inc.

Architectural Resources Group

Mayfield Senior School

Mayfield Senior School is a winner for the 2023 Preservation Design Award for Rehabilitation. Award recipients are selected by a jury of top professionals in the fields of architecture, engineering, planning, and history, as well as renowned architecture critics and journalists. Tickets and sponsorship options are available at

About Mayfield Senior School

The renovation at Mayfield Senior School is the gold standard for projects of its kind.  In phasing the project, immense value was placed on the preservation of Strub Hall as a cornerstone in the School’s legacy and the history of Pasadena.  Constructed as a single family home, projects of this type are often renovated and modified over the years resulting in a loss of the historic features. This renovation is just the opposite; the preservation aspect of the project was the priority from the beginning, with the planned intervention of seismic and MEP systems taking a backseat to the preservation of the building. The painstaking process of repairing, replacing, and matching finishes to the existing historic finishes was prioritized as well.  The non-historic spaces were designed and constructed to blend into and showcase the historic spaces while providing a contemporary but timeless aesthetic.

About CPF and the Awards

The California Preservation Awards are a statewide hallmark, showcasing the best in historic preservation. The awards ceremony includes the presentation of the Preservation Design Awards and the President’s Awards, bringing together hundreds of people each year to share and celebrate excellence in preservation.

The California Preservation Foundation (CPF), a 501c3 nonprofit, was incorporated in 1978. We now support a national network of more than 36,000 members and supporters. Click here to learn how you can become a member.