Category: Design Award Winners

  • Hindry House

    March 27, 2019 by in Blog & Design Award Winners & Landmarked

    California Preservation Awards

    The California Preservation Awards are a statewide hallmark, showcasing the best in historic preservation. The awards ceremony includes the presentation of the Preservation Design Awards and the President’s Awards, and will be held on Friday, October 18th at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins in San Francisco.

  • Cypress Lawn Memorial Cemetery

    August 30, 2017 by in Design Award Winners & Landmarked

    Early cemeteries were more utilitarian, unorganized, and located on family farms or on church grounds. In the 1830’s the concept of rural cemeteries began, with Mount Auburn Cemetery in Cambridge, Massachusetts; rural cemeteries evolved into the lawn-park cemetery, and later the memorial park. In the late 1880’s, San Francisco was the financial center of the west and home to the rich and powerful. It had one of the largest populations in the nation and some 27 cemeteries that lacked perpetual care and subsequently fell into disrepair.